Effects on management and employees

Digital Transformation

Much is reported about the digital transformation, but what are the implications for management and each individual?

The importance of digital development is undisputed. It is also an early realization that digital innovation must be affordable and does not have priority per se. Modern machines with digital connections and a high degree of technical intelligence are cost-intensive and are only worthwhile if they are used consistently at high capacity. One of our considerations was to purchase a new, modern press brake that would enable faster, digital planning and programming of control steps from the desk. We decided against the six-figure purchase because the payback period was still too long for us. Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

Going digital means greatly limiting the use of physical documents and storing everything centrally. This works very well. In the meantime, one employee has become a process manager. This activity covers about 70% of his working day. For example, he takes care of the adaptation of our ERP software BüroWARE, so that all customer information can be found in one place and can be viewed quickly. This includes invoices, contact information, orders, CAD drawings and order changes. Digitizing documents does not sound very difficult at first. However, we had to learn in complex coordination processes that it also involves the synchronization of interfaces to suppliers and customers and extends into structures outside the company. Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

We are currently setting up large screens at our production machines to save CAD printouts and improve the detail display. The changeover will take about six months, after completion we will have a more effective production.

There are also exceptions where we disregard the return on investment. We're excited about 3D printing, but it's not currently playing a role in future business models. Nevertheless, we are looking to purchase equipment to stay on the cutting edge of technology and learn new things.

In our online store you can find the standard products of perforated plates with detailed product descriptions. However, the store remains a compromise solution for us as we always offer at daily prices and it is necessary to contact us. In addition, our mostly extensive and individual solutions for processing cannot be represented by a store system.

For large inquiries we prefer to communicate "conservatively" by phone. Experience shows that nothing beats close personal contact with the customer.

Other industries are ahead of us in terms of innovation leadership. On the one hand, this is a good thing, because digital pressure to innovate does not threaten the company's existence if a new technology is not implemented immediately. But how do we weigh up what is relevant for us? Our customers are our focus. The satisfaction of those we work with every day is our top priority. Digitization is definitely an important part of our work. But it is not an end in itself and changes must always be 100% beneficial to our customers in the end. Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

Auswirkungen auf Unternehmensführung und Mitarbeiter

Digitale Transformation

Über die digitale Transformation wird viel berichtet, doch welche Auswirkungen ergeben sich daraus für die Unternehmensführung und jeden einzelnen?

Unbestritten ist die Wichtigkeit von digitaler Entwicklung. Eine frühe Erkenntnis ist auch, dass digitale Innovation bezahlbar sein muss und nicht per se Vorrang hat. Moderne Maschinen mit digitaler Anbindung und hohem Grad an technischer Intelligenz sind kostenintensiv und lohnen nur bei konsequent hoher Auslastung. Eine unserer Überlegungen war eine neue, moderne Abkantpresse anzuschaffen, die eine schnellere, digitale Planung und Programmierung der Steuerungsschritte vom Schreibtisch aus ermöglichen sollte. Wir entschieden uns gegen die sechsstellige Anschaffung, da uns der Zeitraum der Amortisierung noch zu lang war.

Digitaler werden bedeutet die Verwendung physischer Dokumente stark einzuschränken und alles zentral abzulegen. Das klappt sehr gut. Mittlerweile ist ein Mitarbeiter zum Prozessmanager geworden. Diese Tätigkeit umfasst circa 70% seines Arbeitstages. Er kümmert sich zum Beispiel um die Anpassung unserer ERP-Software BüroWARE, sodass alle Kundeninformationen an einem Ort zu finden und schnell einsehbar sind. Dazu gehören Rechnungen, Kontaktinformationen, Aufträge, CAD-Zeichnungen und Auftragsänderungen. Dokumente zu digitalisieren hört sich zunächst nicht sehr schwer an. Dass es sich jedoch auch um die Synchronisation von Schnittstellen zu Lieferanten und Kunden handelt und in unternehmensfremde Strukturen hineinreicht, mussten wir in komplexen Abstimmungsprozessen lernen.

Aktuell stellen wir große Bildschirme an unseren Produktionsmaschinen auf, um dort den CAD-Ausdruck zu sparen und die Detaildarstellung zu verbessern. Die Umstellung wird circa sechs Monate dauern, nach Abschluss werden wir eine effektivere Produktion haben.

Es gibt auch Ausnahmen, bei denen wir den Return on Investment außer Acht lassen. Der 3D-Druck fasziniert uns, spielt zurzeit aber keine Rolle bei zukünftigen Geschäftsmodellen. Dennoch informieren wir uns über eine Anschaffung eines Gerätes, um technologisch am Ball zu bleiben und Neues zu lernen.

In unserem Online-Shop sind die Standardprodukte der Lochbleche mit detaillierter Produktbeschreibung zu finden. Der Shop bleibt für uns aber eine Kompromisslösung, da wir stets zu Tagespreisen anbieten und eine Kontaktaufnahme mit uns erforderlich ist. Zudem sind unsere meist umfangreichen und individuellen Lösungen der Anarbeitung nicht mit einem Shopsystem abzubilden.

Bei großen Anfragen kommunizieren wir bevorzugt „konservativ“ per Telefon. Erfahrungsgemäß geht nichts über einen engen persönlichen Kontakt zum Kunden.

Andere Branchen sind in Sachen Innovationsführerschaft der unseren voraus. Das ist auf der einen Seite gut, da digitaler Innovationsdruck nicht existenzbedrohend ist, sobald eine neue Technologie nicht umgehend umgesetzt wird. Doch wie wägen wir ab, was für uns relevant ist? Unsere Kunden stehen im Fokus. Die Zufriedenheit derer, mit denen wir täglich zusammenarbeiten, hat erste Priorität. Digitalisierung ist definitiv ein wichtiger Teil unserer Arbeit. Aber sie ist kein Selbstzweck und Veränderungen müssen am Ende immer zu 100% unseren Kunden zugutekommen.